BOARD OF CORRECTIONS

December 22, 2022 Emergency Virtual Board Meeting

Emergency virtual board wieem

CONFERENCE CALL MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sheriff Barry H. Babb

Mr. Duke Blackburn – Chairman

Mr. J.C. "Spud" Bowen

Mr. Chris Clark

Mr. Wayne Dasher

Mr. Guy A. Daughtrey

Mr. Ester Fleming Jr.

Mr. Larry Haynie

Sheriff Stacy Jarrard

Ms. Janelle King

Mr. John Mayes

Mr. Alton Russell

Ms. Andrea Shelton

Mr. Luis "Lou" M. Solis Jr.

Ms. Rose Williams

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sheriff Donnie Pope

Mr. Tommy M. Rouse

Mr. W. D. Strickland

Mr. Bill White

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE PRESENT:

Ms. Tina Piper, Attorney General's Office

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS:

Mr. Timothy C. Ward, Commissioner

Mr. Alan Watson, Chief of Staff

Mr. Peter Adams, Assistant Commissioner

Mr. Ahmed Holt, Assistant Commissioner

Mr. Jay Sanders, Assistant Commissioner

Mr. Randy Sauls, Assistant Commissioner

Ms. Joan Heath, Director of Public Affairs

Ms. Gwendolyn Hogan, Executive Assistant

Ms. Simone Juhmi, Board Liaison

VISITORS:

Mr. Tyrone Oliver, Commissioner

First, Chairman Duke Blackburn called to order the December Emergency Virtual meeting for the Board of Corrections ("the Board") at 11:00 a.m. and Board Liaison, Simone Juhmi, recorded the minutes. Chairman Blackburn then delivered the invocation. Following such, Chairman Blackburn welcomed all members and visitors who were on the conference call, and the Board meeting, being duly convened, proceeded with business.

Chairman Blackburn asked Board Liaison Simone Juhmi to conduct a roll call of all members to confirm a quorum. Following such, Chairman Blackburn asked if there were any additional items to discuss other than the one item on the agenda. Board Liaison Juhmi advised no, so Chairman Blackburn proceeded to ask for a motion to approve to go into Executive Session to discuss the Appointment of the Georgia Department of Corrections Commissioner.

Mr. J. C. "Spud" Bowen made a motion to approve, which was seconded by Mr. Wayne Dasher and Mr. Rose Williams. The vote to go into Executive Session was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Upon the conclusion of Executive Session, Chairman Duke Blackburn ask for a motion to approve moving back into Regular Session to approve the Appointment of the Georgia Department of Corrections Commissioner.

Ms. Rose Williams made a motion to approve, which was seconded by Mr. Chris Clark. The vote to move back into Regular Session was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Minutes of Board of Corrections (Virtual Meeting) December 22, 2022 Page 2

Following such, Chairman Blackburn began the Regular Session by asking for an approval of the Appointment of the Georgia Department of Corrections Commissioner, Mr. Tyrone Oliver.

Mr. Ester Fleming, Jr. made a motion to approve, which was seconded by Mr. Wayne Dasher and Ms. Rose Williams. The appointment of the Georgia Department of Corrections Commissioner, Mr. Tyrone Oliver, was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Upon conclusion, Commissioner Tyrone Oliver thanked the Board for the appointment approval and the opportunity to serve as the new Commissioner of the Georgia Department of Corrections. In addition, former Commissioner Timothy C. Ward thanked the Board, the Department of Corrections, and its staff for the opportunity he had to serve as the former Commissioner.

To close, Chairman Blackburn reminded all board members that the next Board of Corrections meeting is on January 5, 2023, at State Offices South at Tift College in Forsyth, Georgia.

There being no further business, Chairman Blackburn asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:23 a.m.

Mr. Wayne Dasher made a motion to approve, which was seconded by Ms. Janelle King. The adjournment of the meeting was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Simone Juhmi, Board Liaison

The board meeting was adjourned.

Duke Blackburn, Chairman

Andrea Shelton, Secretary