BOARD OF CORRECTIONS December 2, 2021 Forsyth, Georgia

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mr. Duke Blackburn – Chairman Mr. J.C. "Spud" Bowen Mr. Chris Clark Mr. Wayne Dasher Mr. Ester Fleming Jr. Mr. Larry Haynie Sheriff Stacy Jarrard Sheriff Donnie Pope Mr. Alton Russell Ms. Andrea Shelton Mr. W. D. Strickland

CONFERENCE CALL:

Mr. Luis "Lou" M. Solis Jr. Ms. Rose Williams Mr. Bill White

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sheriff Barry H. Babb Mr. Guy A. Daughtrey Ms. Janelle King Mr. John Mayes Mr. Tommy M. Rouse

ATTORNEY GENERAL'S OFFICE:

Ms. Elizabeth Crowder, Attorney General's Office

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS:

Mr. Alan Watson, Chief of Staff Mr. Ahmed Holt, Assistant Commissioner Mr. Jay Sanders, Assistant Commissioner Mr. Randy Sauls, Assistant Commissioner Ms. Jennifer Ammons, General Counsel Mr. Timothy Cofield, Deputy Warden, Coweta County Correctional Facility Mr. Terry Edge, Director of Office of Professional Development Ms. Joan Heath, Director of Public Affairs Mr. Russell Houser, Chaplain Mr. Cliff Hogan, Director, Data Unit Ms. Gwendolyn Hogan, Commissioner's Executive Assistant Ms. Angela Ivester, Office of Informational Technology Ms. Simone Juhmi, Board Liaison Ms. Dawn Mock, Office of Informational Technology Ms. Mary Jane Moss, Office of Professional Standards Mr. Clay Nix, Director of Office of Professional Standards Ms. Amy Pataluna, Deputy Director, GCI Mr. Mike Riley, Office of Professional Standards Mr. Savario Spencer, AV Specialist Ms. Betsy Thomas, Human Resources Director Mr. Chris Tiller, Executive Director, GCI Mr. Dexter Walker, Office of Information Technology

VISITORS:

Mr. Mike Coggins, Former Board Member Ms. Penny Coggins, Mike Coggins Wife Mr. Jim Cole, Vice Chairman, Development Authority Ms. Joyce White, Director, Development Authority

First, Chairman Duke Blackburn called to order the December meeting for the Board of Corrections ("the Board") at 10:00 a.m. and Board Liaison, Simone Juhmi, recorded the minutes.

Minutes of Board of Corrections December 2, 2021 Page 2

Chairman Blackburn then asked Chaplain Russell Houser to deliver the invocation. Following such, Chairman Blackburn led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance. Chairman Blackburn welcomed all guests and visitors to the board meeting, and the Board meeting, being duly convened, proceeded with business.

Chairman Blackburn then confirmed the following individuals were present via conference call: Board Members Mr. John Mayes and Mr. Bill White, and Mr. Timothy Cofield, Deputy Warden, Coweta County Correctional Facility.

Next, Chairman Blackburn and Commissioner Timothy C. Ward presented a board resolution to Mr. Mike Coggins. Mr. Coggins was appointed to the Board of Corrections in September of 2016 by Governor Nathan Deal. Since that time, he has faithfully served on several committees on the Board of Corrections while holding an At Large seat.

The resolution was presented to Mr. Coggins for his years of service on the Board of Corrections.

Chairman Blackburn presented the December Agenda to the Board for approval. Mr. Wayne Dasher made a motion to approve the Agenda, which was seconded by Mr. Ester Fleming Jr. The Agenda was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Chairman Blackburn also presented the November Minutes to the Board for approval. Mr. Alton Russell made the motion to approve, which was seconded by Mr. WD Strickland. The Minutes were then voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

COMMISSIONER'S REPORT

To begin the Commissioner's Report, Chief of Staff Alan Watson discussed the dashboard, which is a four-page overview highlighting key areas and significant events within the Agency.

Chief of Staff Watson then asked Mr. Ahmed Holt, Assistant Commissioner of Facilities Division, to go over the Safe and Secure slide portion of the Dashboard. Mr. Holt discussed mortalities, escapes, absconds, contraband, the GDC physical arrests made, inmate on inmate assaults, and inmate on staff assaults.

To follow, Chief of Staff Watson asked Mr. Jay Sanders to discuss the Inmate Services Dashboard slides. Mr. Sanders discussed the behavioral program comparison, the chaplaincy and volunteer services, GED completions, transitional services, and the Career Technical and Higher Education completions.

Next, Mr. Randy Sauls, Assistant Commissioner, Office of Health Services, gave an Office of Health Services Update.

Mr. Sauls began his presentation by discussing the Dialysis Expansion Project at ASMP. In his presentation, Mr. Sauls discussed the population served, the construction and floor plans, ASMP's Dialysis Clinic, the floor plan scheme B, and Mr. Sauls showed an example of a completed clinic.

This concluded Mr. Sauls' report.

Next, Chief of Staff Watson asked Mr. Clay Nix, Director of the Office of Professional Standards (OPS), to give an OPS update.

Mr. Nix began his report by discussing the Civilian Arrests and Drones Incidents.

To begin, Mr. Nix discussed the number of civilians that were arrested each month since June and the number of drone incidents at facilities since October 2020. Mr. Nix concluded his report with a few pictures.

This concluded the Commissioner's report.

CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

Chairman Duke Blackburn began the Chairman's Report by moving into Regular Session to approve a County Deputy Warden's appointment.

The candidate was Mr. Timothy C. Cofield for Coweta County Correctional Facility.

Minutes of Board of Corrections December 2, 2021 Page 3

Chairman Blackburn called upon Mr. Wayne Dasher, Vice Chairman of the Board and Member of the Facilities Committee, to give the Board the Committee's recommendation on Mr. Cofield, since Ms. Rose Williams was absent.

Mr. Dasher stated that the Committee received the report on Mr. Cofield and the Committee would like to make a motion to approve Mr. Cofield's appointment as the Deputy Warden of Coweta County Correctional Facility.

Mr. Wayne Dasher made the motion to approve the appointment, which was seconded by Mr. W.D. Strickland. The motion was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Chairman Blackburn congratulated Mr. Cofield, and Mr. Cofield thanked the Board for the opportunity.

Next, Chairman Blackburn asked Mr. Larry Haynie, Chairman of the Nominations Committee, to give the Board their 2022 Executive Officer nominations.

Mr. Haynie stated that the Nominations Committee met, discussed, and agreed to formally nominate the same officers, Mr. Duke Blackburn as Chairman, Mr. Wayne Dasher as Vice Chairman, and Ms. Andrea Shelton as the Secretary, for the 2022 calendar year.

Mr. Larry Haynie made the motion to approve the appointment, which was seconded by Mr. W.D. Strickland. The motion was voted "approved" by the Board as presented.

Following such, Chairman Blackburn thanked the Board for the opportunity to serve for the past year. In addition, he thanked Commissioner Ward, the Board Liaison, and the staff at the Department of Corrections for their support in 2021.

There was no Old or New Business so Chairman Blackburn reminded the Board that the next Board of Corrections meeting is on January 6, 2022 at Macon State Prison, in Oglethorpe, Georgia.

To close, Chairman Blackburn mentioned the following items:

- Mr. Wayne Dasher gave an updated balance on last month's GPWA Board of Corrections Scholarship Fund and Board of Corrections Flower Fund collection;
- Possible military incentive idea / pay increase-difference; and
- Canine Operations Training Facility.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Duke Blackburn, Chairman

Andrea Shelton, Secretary

Simone Juhmi, Board Liaison