Summary Board of Corrections

418 Amicalola Falls State Park Road, Dawsonville, Georgia 30534

October 6, 2016

Board Members

Sonja Allen-Smith
Duke Blackburn
Christopher Clark (Absent)
Mike Coggins
Mac Collins
Wayne Dasher
Carl Franklin-Conference Call
Roger D. Garrison

Roger D. Garrison Larry E. Haynie Bruce Hudson Stacy Jarrard John Mayes Tommy Rouse

Alton Russell-Secretary (Absent)

Andrea Shelton W. D. Strickland

Rose Williams-Chairman

Jerry Willis-Vice Chairman (Absent)

Rocio Woody (Absent)

The following action was taken at the October 6, 2016 Board meeting:

Chairman Williams called the meeting to order. Chaplain Aaron Reaves gave the invocation. The Pledge of Allegiance was verbalized by Chairman Williams. Chairman Williams recognized new board member, Mike Coggins, and welcomed the guests and visitors.

The Board approved the October agenda and the minutes from the September 1, 2016 Board of Corrections' meeting.

Commissioner Homer Bryson presented the Commissioner's report, which included the Commissioner's Dashboard, and a Facilities Division Update on Tier Recidivism and Transitional Center Cellphone Overview.

Chairman Williams presented the Chairman's report which included a Correctional Industries/Food & Farm presentation and the Nominations Committee gave an update for the 2017 nominations of officers.

The Board approved an honorary resolution for former Assistant Commissioner Dr. L. C. "Buster" Evans.

The Board approved the property resolution for the Johnson State Prison Training Building Demolition.

The Board approved the request to name the Reentry Dorm at Phillips State Prison the Chaplain Katie Wright dorm.

The Board approved to move the date and location of the April Board of Corrections meeting to April 13, 2017, with the location being in Glennville, Georgia.